Wednesday, November 29, 2023
HomeNewsRawalakotChaudhry Latif Akbar Elected Speaker of Azad Kashmir Legislative Assembly

Chaudhry Latif Akbar Elected Speaker of Azad Kashmir Legislative Assembly


- Advertisement -

Muzaffarabad, Azadi Times (04 June 2023) — Chaudhry Latif Akbar was elected Speaker of the Azad Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Assembly on Saturday. He received 19 votes, while his opponent, Chaudhry Maqbool Gujjar, received no votes.

The election was held at a special session of the assembly, which was chaired by Deputy Speaker Chaudhry Riaz Gujjar. Akbar was nominated for the speakership by members of the assembly Syed Bazal Ali Naqvi and Ahmed Raza Qadri, while Gujjar was nominated by Khawaja Farooq Ahmed and Chaudhry Rafiq Nayar.

After his election, Akbar took the oath of office. He thanked the members of the assembly for their support and said that he would run the house according to the rules and regulations.

Also Read: Muzaffarabad: Prime Minister AJK Sardar Tanveer Ilyas Khan visited the residence of opposition leader Chaudhry Latif Akbar

Earlier in the session, Government Minister Faisal Mumtaz Rathore presented the draft of the fifteenth constitutional amendment to abolish the allocated limit of the number of ministers in the Legislative Assembly of Azad Jammu and Kashmir.

The amendment was approved by the House by a vote of 40-0. Akbar adjourned the assembly session indefinitely after the election.

Breaking News Alert!

Sign up to receive the latest updates straight to your inbox

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Read more

Local News