Wednesday, November 29, 2023
HomeNewsMirpur: Municipal elections, polling of last phase has started

Mirpur: Municipal elections, polling of last phase has started


- Advertisement -


Mirpur (Azadi Times) The last phase of the local body elections to be held in Azad Kashmir after 31 years will be held today on December 8 in 3 districts of Mirpur, Kotli, and Bhimber. Around 2200 for the 12 lakh 40 thousand voters of the three districts.

Polling stations have been established, and 11,000 police personnel will be deployed for security. 116 union councils of 3 districts of Western, 849 local council wards, 2 municipal corporations, 8 municipal committees and 3 town committees will be elected. A total of 1083 representatives will be elected.

In the distribution, 27 seats are reserved for District Council Mirpur, 46 seats for Mirpur Municipal Corporation, 11 seats for Chakswari Municipal Committee, 14 seats for Islamgarh Municipal Committee, while 6 seats are reserved for Dadyal Municipal Committee.

There will be an election for 3 seats of the committee, while 2, 2 seats of Fatehpur and Chachoi Municipal Committees and 3 seats of Khoi Ratta Town Committee. 31 Union Councils of Bhambar District, 2 Municipal Committees of Bhambar and Barnala will get 8 and 3 seats respectively in addition to Samahni Town. 2 of the committee and also for 3 seats of Kot Ali Bahadur Town Committee Will be cast.

Breaking News Alert!

Sign up to receive the latest updates straight to your inbox

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Read more

Local News